Sunday, August 3, 2008

This Explains Many Things

From Steve's BJJ blog; I just love these four categories:

But now that he's broken in my blue belt, I think I'm ready to figure out what I need to learn next. If I think about it too much, it's a little overwhelming. There's a learning model very commonly used in business that distinguishes competence into four categories: unconscious incompetence, conscious incompetence, conscious competence and unconscious competence. I am now, I believe, consciously incompetent. What that means is that I understand how little I really know and am ready to learn more.


Anonymous said...

Is there anything about "Overconscious imcompetency"? You know, for those times when overthinking ruins what you could probably do if you just didn't think about it so much? :-)

BobSpar said...

Lol, good new category!

Steve said...

Thanks, Bob. And overconscious or self conscious. :D

That's a category I know well.

BobSpar said...